Awards, Scholarships and Prizes

Cowell Service and Leadership Awards

Winners selected by Student Life Staff.

Please Submit Entries electronically here, or in-person to Cowell 116 by Friday, May 13th, 2022.

Applicants must be COWELL affiliated students, unless otherwise specified in the description of the award.

For complete criteria contact the Cowell College Academic Manager.

Cowell Service Citation for outstanding contributions to the life of Cowell College. All college staff members are asked by email to make nominations, and student life staff deliberates to select 8 to 15 winners. No self-nomination.

Carol Freeman Leadership Award – Acknowledges a graduating Cowell senior for exemplary leadership, service, and commitment to the Cowell College community. Established by the Cowell student senate to honor former (1992-97) Cowell Provost Carol Freeman, Senior Lecturer in Writing. Self-nomination allowed. (Award: $100)

John Lynch Multicultural Service Award – Acknowledges service that has enhanced the understanding and visibility of the ethnic and cultural diversity of the Cowell College community. It honors former (1983-89) Provost and Professor of Classics John P. Lynch. Self-nomination allowed. (Award: $100)

Cassius Ellis Memorial Award – Acknowledges a Cowell College student for academic achievement combined with service in the off-campus community. This award honors the memory of Cassius Ellis, the first night proctor of Cowell College. Self-nomination allowed. (Award: $300)

Other Cowell Prizes

Please Submit Entries electronically here, or in-person to Cowell 116 by Friday, May 13th, 2022.

For complete criteria contact the Cowell College Academic Manager.

Provost’s Undergraduate Scholarship – Awarded to Cowell students in recognition of academic excellence and achievement.  Senior Preceptor presents records of students with top academic records to Provost.  Provost selects recipient(s). (Award: $1,000)

The UCSC Annual Dante Prize –The award is available to a UCSC undergrad, student does not have to be a Cowell affiliate. Essay topic must be on Dante and his writing(s). Essays will be judged based on the following criteria: quality of critical interpretation, strong argument, clarity, and style in the use of the English language. If the student would like to submit an essay written for a class, the essay must be edited and improved (based on instructor feedback) to be considered prize-worthy. The submission is anonymous; students must choose a pseudonym and attach a sealed envelope containing the student's real name. (Award: $300)

Cowell Press Prize – Award given for excellence in printing or book arts productions. Entry must be a single print project produced in the Cowell Press. Recipient need not be a Cowell student. (Award: $200)

William & Roslyn Targ Cowell Press Award – Award given for excellence in printing or book arts productions. Entry must be a single print project produced in the Cowell Press. Recipient need not be a Cowell student. (Award: $200)

John Dizikes Writing Prize – Awarded to a Cowell student for excellent non-fiction prose writing in any field. Entries must consist of a single essay in English written for a UCSC course. Entries are judged on essay form, prose style and lucidity, word choice, and technical perfection in the use of the English language. (Award: $1,000)

John Holmes Award (History) – Awarded to a student for excellent written work in United States history. (Award: $600)

Karl Lamb Short Story Prize – Awarded to a Cowell student for excellent short story writing in any genre. Entries must be original work, and consist of a single short story in English. Entries are judged on prose style and lucidity, word choice, and authenticity of voice. (Award: $400)

Cowell Poetry Prize – Award for excellence in poetry written by a Cowell student. Students may submit up to 3 poems, no longer than 6 pages total. (Award: $500)

Cowell Illustration Prize – Award for excellence in illustration or a photograph of a scene from/of Cowell. Students may submit only one piece each. (Award: $100)

Cowell Scholarships

Winner selected by Provost and others as specified.

Cowell College Education Abroad Scholarship – Advertised by the IEO Office, the award is given to a Cowell student with at least a 3.5 GPA with demonstrated financial need, who is planning to study abroad through an EAP program. Applicants should turn in materials to the Cowell College Academic Manager within two weeks of learning that they have been accepted into their EAP program. Decisions will be made within two weeks of receipt of the application. Provost selects recipient(s).

You can find the full list of requirements and the application here.

Applications should be turned in to the Cowell College Academic Manager in Cowell 116 by the following deadlines:

-- Scholarship Suspended due to COVID-19

Mark Glenn Cary Scholarship – Honors a Cowell resident with a declared major in Physical and Biological Sciences. Selection is based on both academic merit and financial need. The final decision is made by the Provost. (Award: $1,000)

David Wayne Christenson Scholarship – Honors Kresge and Cowell College students with demonstrated public service to the university, high academic merit, and financial need. Students are selected from Cowell and Kresge College each year. Self-nomination permitted. (Award: $1,500)


For more information regarding Cowell College Prizes, please email the Cowell College Academic Manager or (831) 459-2251.